Tool Review: Kreg Jig

No surprise here, my tool collection has been growing as of late, and so has my ability to build decor and furniture. From cordless drills to miter saws, my collection has been getting more and more extensive. Hands down though, one of the best additions to my tools and workbench recently is the Kreg Jig! For those of you that know the beauty of the Kreg Jig, hopefully you are as obsessed with it as I am. However, for those of you that have never even heard of the Kreg Jig, I fully intend to fix that with this post. Who knows maybe this review will be enough to convince you to invest in one yourself!

Kreg Jig.png

What’s so great about the Kreg Jig?

What makes the Kreg Jig great is that it gives you the ability to hide your handy work. When you first start building small furniture, you start to notice that it is nearly impossible to build something that is sturdy while also hiding your hardware.

For instance, if you take a look at a post I did on thedecordujour.com a while ago, Build Your Own Farmhouse Coffee Table, one of the steps instructs you to screw in the legs of your table right through the table top. It is definitely effective and it got the job done, but now you can clearly see the hardware that I used to build the table.

Kreg Jig Table

Some would consider this not that big a deal, but once you see how it could look if I had used a Kreg Jig to build the table, you will see a clear winner. To show you this I will demonstrate with the same size wood as I used to make the table top and legs ( i.e. 1″ x 4″ for the table top and 2″ x 2″ for the legs )

Kreg Jig Table

As you can see in the pictures above, the Kreg Jig is very simple to use. Simply place and clamp your wood onto the platform provided by the tool, then using the drill bit provided in the Kreg Jig kit drill a pilot hole right through it. Next line up your two pieces of wood and using a specialized Kreg Jig screw ( with a square shaped bit ), screw them together. The end result hides the hardware and provides an incredibly strong hold on the wood.

Want to see a successful project that has been completed with a Kreg Jig?

Take a look at another post I wrote, Pinterest DIY Remake: Wooden Lantern. This was my first time using the Kreg Jig and I would definitely say it was a success. The lantern turned out great ( if I do say so myself )!

Kreg Jig Lantern

What else can it do?

So now you are probably curious about pieces of wood that will not fit onto the provided tool platform, or what if you are just fixing a broken piece of already built furniture. Well, a cool feature of the Kreg Jig is its versatility. You can remove the pocket hole guides from the platform and use it buy itself. I decided to put this to the test and try my hand at fixing a chair that recently broke in our home.

Kreg Jig Chair

I clamped the jig to the bracing of the chair, and with the bracing clamped in the correct position I drill my pilot hole. Next I just used the pilot hole to screw it together. Now the bracing of this chair is stronger than it was before it even broke!


In a nutshell, I highly recommend this tool. If you are considering purchasing one, let me tempt you a bit further. Here is a link to the tool on Amazon Prime: Get yours now. I can practically hear it calling your name! Want one that can still get the job done without breaking the bank? Try this version!

Save

Leave a Reply

